Is That You Facebook

What is Is That You Facebook?

Facebook is still one of the most popular social networking platforms in the world, and so it is not surprising that schemers are trying to exploit it. The Is That You Facebook scam is the perfect example of that. As reported by malware researchers, the scam is used to trick users into clicking a corrupted link that, potentially, could route to fictitious and misleading websites. If you have been exposed to the scam, you have to think very carefully if you have downloaded anything suspicious or disclosed any personally identifiable, sensitive information. If you have, you need to act accordingly to the situation. You can learn more about this by reading this report prepared by malware researchers. It is unlikely that you need to remove Is That You Facebook scam-related malware because this scam operates on a virtual level. That being said, if you were exposed to this scam, it is very important that you scan your operating system to determine whether or not you need to delete malware.

How does Is That You Facebook work?

It is hard to say how exactly the misleading Is That You Facebook scam is introduced to users. From what we have gathered, the scam is designed to expose users to a malicious link. To trick the user into clicking the said link, it should be supported by an alluring message. Most likely, this message should pose a question of whether or not you are shown in a video that should be shown via the link. So, if you are sent a link with a message asking questions like “Is That You?” or “This video belongs to you?”, you need to be very careful. Unfortunately, the malicious link could be sent to you by someone you know, and so you might just assume no threat. That being said, you need to be always on the lookout for anything out of the ordinary, and if you do that, you might be able to evade malware. It is notable that the suspicious Is That You Facebook scam is similar to a scam that was circling around back in 2014. In this scam, the user would also be sent a message with a question of whether or not the person in a photo was them (“Is that you?”). The message would represent a .ZIP file that, in fact, represented malware that the user would then need to delete. Well, do you need to delete malware if you interact with the scam we are discussing in this report?

It is believed that the user who is tricked into interacting with the Is That You Facebook scam link is routed to a fictitious website where personal information about them might be requested. That is not the only scenario. Our researchers warn that by clicking the malicious link you could also let in a worm that would then be used to spread the corrupted message from your account to your Facebook friends. It is also possible that the malicious link could be used to plant a cryptocurrency miner onto the PC. Coin miners, such as the Coinhive Miner or Crypto-Loot Miner, are becoming more and more popular, and different scams and techniques are being used to spread them. If a miner is active, your computer’s performance levels should decrease dramatically. Open the Task Manager and check the Performance section to see whether or not the CPU is exhausted for no good reason. A miner must be removed.

How to delete Is That You Facebook

If you are exposed to the Is That You Facebook scam, the best thing you can do is ignore the message and the link represented via it. If the link is sent to you by someone you know, you should also contact them to warn them about the situation. If you have clicked the link already, you need to think about your actions. Was malware downloaded onto your system? You might have not noticed it, and it is important that you install a trusted malware scanner to inspect your operating system. If threats are found, install trusted anti-malware software to have them removed automatically. If you do not need to delete Is That You Facebook scam-related threats, maybe you need to look out for yourself because you were tricked into disclosing personal information? If you have specific questions regarding the scam, please do not hesitate to leave a comment below. 100% FREE spyware scan and
tested removal of Is That You Facebook*


Leave a Comment

Enter the numbers in the box to the right *