Unfriend Alert

What is Unfriend Alert?

Unfriend Alert is an adware program that is advertised as an application that will show you when your Facebook friends remove you from their friends list. However, in this article we will focus on the malicious activities performed by this application, and not its supposed ones. In short, the application displays advertisements that come from unreliable sources. In addition to that, the program has a built-in ability to accrue information about your browsing preferences. So, if you have this application installed and you want to remove it, please consult our manual removal guide at the end of this article.testtest 100% FREE spyware scan and
tested removal of Unfriend Alert*

Where does Unfriend Alert come from?

Most adware applications are distributed using software bundles that often contain legitimate programs that the user might want to use. But the installation wizard is set up in such a confusing manner that most users do not notice that they have agreed to install additional software. This additional software is mostly adware-type applications. Unfriend Alert might also be found bundled, but, at present, we cannot confirm this. Its developers took a more subtle approach to malware distribution and chose not to be so aggressive. Thus, Unfriend Alert is known to be disseminated via its own dedicated website, called Yougotunfriended.com.

What does Unfriend Alert do?

Unfriend Alert is no different than thousands of other adware applications. After infecting your computer it begins showing commercial advertisements as pop-ups and coupons. Though the frequency of the ads appearing on the screen may vary, the ads can be extremely irritating for some users, but that is not the only reason you should remove this application. Because most ads are contributed by third parties, chances are that they will try to promote some kind of suspicious business venture. In other words, they might promote malicious software or fictitious online shopping websites that are set to force money from their victims.

Another reason you should remove Unfriend Alert is because it can obtain information about your browsing preferences by using browser cookies. Typically, it will gather information regarding your system, such as what browser you are using, what operating system you are using, links you click, your IP address, your location, and other information. It is collected so that the developers can tailor the advertised content and provide additional content from yet more third parties.

How do I remove Unfriend Alert?

We hope that the information provided was sufficient and helped you make up your mind. If you have decided to remove the application, follow our manual removal guide. Alternatively, you can download our featured anti-malware scanner, called SpyHunter, which is one powerful removal tool that can delete any infection with ease.

Remove Unfriend Alert from Windows

Windows XP

  1. Open the Start menu and select Control Panel.
  2. Click Add or remove programs.
  3. Locate Unfriend Alert.
  4. Click Uninstall.

Windows 7 and Windows Vista

  1. Open the Start menu and select Control Panel.
  2. Select Uninstall a program.
  3. Locate Unfriend Alert, right-click on it.
  4. Click Uninstall.

Windows 8 and Windows 8.1

  1. Open the Charm bar and click Settings.
  2. Click Control Panel and click Uninstall a program.
  3. Locate Unfriend Alert and right-click on it.
  4. Click Uninstall.
100% FREE spyware scan and
tested removal of Unfriend Alert*

Leave a Comment

Enter the numbers in the box to the right *