What is Popup? Popup is a fake alert that can be displayed in your browsers while you are browsing the web and end up on questionable websites. It is possible that you click on corrupt content to be redirected there but you may also be infected by adware programs that can do such redirections. In any case, it is important that you do not click the OK button on these pop-ups because you may install useless and possibly harmful browser extensions in return. Our malware experts at say that it is essential that you understand how this fake alert can show up on your screen and how you can avoid it so that you can prevent further infections from happening. Since the security of your system is our utmost priority, we recommend that you remove Popup from your computer. For more details, please read our full report to understand how you can protect your PC more efficiently against all kinds of malware threats.

Where does Popup come from?

As we have mentioned, there are mainly two ways for you to be exposed to these potentially harmful fake alert pop-ups. First, it is possible that you have infected your computer previously with adware. Such an infection is capable of a number of things apart from showing you third-party advertisements while you are surfing the net. An adware program can spy on you, share this information with third parties and use it to create customized ads for you, but it can also redirect you to malicious websites. When you land on such a page, this fake alert may come up but it can also be displayed when you try to leave the page or close the tab. Many users may not even read these pop-ups carefully and quickly click OK or press Enter, which will unfortunately install potentially unreliable browser extensions. When it comes to adware programs, it is important that you understand how these infections can infiltrate your system so that you can safeguard it against them.

The most likely way for you to let such an infection on board is via malicious software bundles. A lot of users infect their machine by wanting to download free programs or other files. Their intention is not the main problem, though; instead, the sources they end up choosing. If you run a web search, you may end up with a list of results that could contain a number of questionable and malicious file-sharing websites. If you are not familiar with these, you can easily go for the wrong one and instead of downloading a standalone file or installer, you may drop a bundle of malware threats and potentially unwanted programs. The same can happen when you click on unsafe third-party ads on suspicious websites. These pages usually include online gaming, gambling, torrent, freeware, and porn sites, which are all infamous for the number of and quality of the displayed third-party advertisements. These ads can also be disguised and look like buttons, links, and system notifications. One click on these and you can download a bundle packed with browser hijackers, fake alerts, Trojans, adware programs, and more. If you have installed free software recently, we recommend that you run a reliable online malware scanner to detect all possible threat sources on your system after you delete Popup by removing all possibly related suspicious applications and browser extensions.

It is also possible that your computer is not infected, yet you find these annoying fake alerts in your browser suddenly. You should know that you can also end up on these malicious pages that display these pop-ups after you click on corrupt links on shady websites. Hopefully, now you understand the importance of avoiding such sites and clicking on any third-party content if possible. Obviously, this is the better case because you may not have to remove Popup by eliminating all kinds of suspicious applications and you can simply close the current tab or the browser window.

How does Popup work?

These fake alerts are generated by malicious web pages where you can end up in a couple of ways as we have explained above. Such a fake alert pop-up usually says " says: Add extension to leave", "Do you want to leave this site? Changes you made may not be saved" or anything similar. There is always an OK and a Cancel button on these pop-ups as well as a checkbox option that says "Prevent this page from creating additional dialogs." Obviously, you may be able to stop the flow of these annoying fake alerts if you tick this checkbox. But we do not really advise you to engage with it at all. Clicking the OK button could install questionable or downright malicious browser extensions or other infections. We do not believe that this is what you really want. Therefore, it is important that you remove Popup fake alerts from your browsers to stop the possibility of further infection. Let us tell you what you can do if you are ready to act.

How can I delete Popup?

If you simply clicked on a corrupt link while visiting a shady website and this is how you got exposed to this fake alert, you may simply close your browser window to eliminate it. However, this does not mean that your system is all clean and it is always important to make sure it is if you do not want to let more dangerous threats onto your computer or cyber criminals to find easy access to your PC. If your computer is infected with malware programs or malicious browser extensions that are capable of redirecting you to these pages, we recommend that you try to identify these in your list of installed programs in Control Panel and the extension lists of your browsers. In fact, the best is to reset all your browsers if you do not mind losing your preferences and extensions you have installed as your browsers will be set to factory default. We have included the necessary guides below if you want to manually clean your system. It is possible that you are looking for a more effective way to keep your PC safe; therefore, we advise you to install a reliable malware removal tool, such as SpyHunter.

Remove Popup from Windows

Windows 8/Windows 8.1/Windows 10

  1. Press Win+R and type control panel. Click OK.
  2. Choose Uninstall a program.
  3. Click on the unwanted application and press Uninstall.

Windows Vista/Windows 7

  1. Open the Start menu and select Control Panel.
  2. Pick Uninstall a program.
  3. Click on the unwanted application and press Uninstall.

Windows XP

  1. Click Start and select Control Panel.
  2. Open Add or Remove Programs.
  3. Click on the unwanted application and press Remove.

Reset your browsers

Internet Explorer

  1. Press Alt+T and choose Internet Options.
  2. Select the Advanced tab and click the Reset button.
  3. Mark the Delete personal settings checkbox and click Reset.
  4. Press Close.

Mozilla Firefox

  1. Press Alt+H and go to Troubleshooting Information.
  2. Click Refresh Firefox at the top.
  3. In the confirmation window, click Refresh Firefox again.

Google Chrome

  1. Press Alt+F and choose Settings.
  2. Scroll down and click Show advanced settings.
  3. Scroll down and click Reset settings.
  4. In the pop-up, click Reset. 100% FREE spyware scan and
    tested removal of Popup*

Leave a Comment

Enter the numbers in the box to the right *