Eliminate Facebook Message

What is Eliminate Facebook Message?

Eliminate Facebook Message is a malicious application that compromises a victim’s Facebook account and sends personal messages to all of the victim’s friends. The messages contain links to what appears to be video files. However, you do not get to see any videos because this malware redirects you to phishing websites. Therefore, it is recommended that you remove this program from your computer as soon as possible. In this short description, we will discuss how this program works, how it is distributed and how you can get rid of it as well as protect your PC from similar infections compromising your computer’s security.

Where does Eliminate Facebook Message come from?

This malware comes from an unknown developer. Nevertheless, research has shown that it belongs to a family of Facebook malware that has been around since 2013. Its latest iteration emerged on August of 2017. Our malware researchers say that this malware is distributed from one computer to the other using the victim’s Facebook account. This malware sends messages to all Facebook friends of a victim via personal message. The messages do not only contain malicious links because they also feature text to trick potential victims into clicking the links. Our malware analysts say that the message can say “[name of the potential victim] Video :o ” to trick the would-be victim into clicking the link out of curiosity.

What does Eliminate Facebook Message do?

Once Eliminate Facebook Message is on your computer, it will redirect you to a fake YouTube website, or some other site, and recommend that you install a browser extension to view the video. If you agree to install the extension, then your PC will become infected with malware. Eliminate Facebook Message can be used to trick users into downloading and installing all kinds of malicious applications. In 2016, a similar application called Eko was used to collect Personal information about the victim. That same year Locky Ransomware was also distributed with the help of a malicious program similar to Eliminate Facebook Message, but instead of a link to a video, the cyber crooks sent messages with a picture in SVG format. If users clicked on that picture, they got redirected to a website that asked to install a Google Chrome extension that let malicious software enter the PC secretly.

The latest version of this malware features a short bit.ly link that redirects to a Google Doc page that contains a picture that was secretly taken from the potential victim’s Facebook account. Researchers say that the picture was made to look like it is a video file to intrigue the user to click it. If users click the link, then they will be redirected to an unknown website that collects what seems to be non-personally identifiable information.

Firefox users get redirected to a website that offers to install a Fake Flash Player update, while Google Chrome users are offered to install a browser extension. Also, people that use the Safari browser on Mac OS will be offered to install the latest version of Media Player.

How do I remove Eliminate Facebook Message?

Without a doubt, Eliminate Facebook Message is one malicious application that you should deal with immediately because if your PC has become infected with it, then it will compromise your Facebook account and send fake messages to a malicious links to its download to all of your friends. Then, it will also send you and the friends that were infected with this malware messages to other websites that feature malware downloads. Since this ransomware can be dropped anywhere on your PC, we recommend that you get an anti-malware program such as SpyHunter to detect and remove it for you. See the guide below on how to use the free scanner of our featured antimalware program to detect this malware and then how to go to its location an delete it manually.

How to delete this malware

  1. Go to http://www.anti-spyware-101.com/download-sph
  2. Download SpyHunter-Installer.exe and run it.
  3. Launch the program and click Scan Computer Now!
  4. Copy the file path of the malware from the scan results.
  5. Hold down Win+E keys.
  6. Enter the file path of the malware in File Explorer’s address box.
  7. Press Enter.
  8. Find and right-click the malicious file and then click Delete. 100% FREE spyware scan and
    tested removal of Eliminate Facebook Message*

Leave a Comment

Enter the numbers in the box to the right *